Age Discrepancy

I have been taking an art class for the past few weeks to try and get myself back into painting (I’ll take photos of my work once I get a nice, sunny day. Lately, we’ve been having May showers…for the June flowers?).

Anyhow, the latest assignment was self-portrait. My teacher says that many times the people you paint end up looking like self portraits because we are most familiar with the face we see in the mirror! There is a life lesson in that observation.

When I finished my first attempt, my family members all told me “You painted yourself way too old. You are not that old. That is you in maybe, 10 years.”

My husband said of the painting, “It looks like someone who has consistently made poor career choices and is unhappy about it. It looks like a Hyderabadi woman married to a Punjabi man.”

 

Leave a Reply

