What the dandelions don’t know

IMG_0299
Dandelions in the bag

I hand pull the dandelions in my lawn and dispose of them in the lawn waste bag. I let the plants accumulate over the course of the week, and inevitably, on the day before trash pick-up, I look in the bag and the yellow flowers have turned into seed heads. Even though I pulled them when they were flowers, if they were fertilized, the dandelions followed through with their coded program despite the fact they have sat in a lawn waste bag in the darkness of my garage!

IMG_0330This reminds me of that old piece of advice, “when anything dreadful happens, think of what you would be doing if nothing had happened, then do that.”

Leave a Reply

